Limited edition C45 cassette of solo shortwave tracks by Duncan released in 20 numbered copies including hardcover book with 2-color printed pages by Duncan and Jonathan Canady.

Self released by Duncan and Jonathan Canady.


Limited edition C60 cassette of mixes by Duncan and Nicola Vinciguerra released in 50 numbered copies with original artwork by Nicola Vinciguerra.

Self released by Duncan and Nicola Vinciguerra.


Limited edition 10" released in 100 numbered copies by Silentes.
John Duncan

Theta Waves

"Chimeratorium" is based on an audio dream that Deison had. He dreamt about making a new piece together with John Duncan: they were in a large room, in an old church, sculpting frequencies repeatedly for hours. Sounds and frequencies have been then recreated in the studio according to that particular event, becoming the long beautiful suites "Theta Waves" and "Portal", the latter being a collaboration track by both artists.

John Duncan, one of the most consistently confrontational, powerful, and compelling masters of experimentation of the last forty years, is also presenting an unreleased number entitled "Everyone", which is an alternate mix of a track that is going to appear on his upcoming album called "Soft Eyes", a project that was born directly from the experiences and inspirations that Duncan collected during the "Red Sky tour" in Japan with Eiko Ishibashi, Jim O'Rourke and Joe Talia.

Packed in a deluxe gatefold sleeve with images created by Stefano Gentile, "Chimeratorium" comes in a limited 10" black vinyl in the 13/Private Sounds series.

Limited Edition Cassette #1

46 minute cassette released in limited edition of 20 copies, signed and numbered, each copy unique.
John Duncan: shortwave
The Shape of Minds to Come 6
The Shape of Minds to Come 7
Artwork by John Duncan and Rosa Lavita
Produced with generous support from NEUREC

PANIC @ 11,000 FEET

Single side LP release by Matiere Memoire
John Duncan: shortwave


2x CD release by iDEAL
John Duncan: vocals
Eiko Ishibashi: flute, keyboards, effects, vocals
Jim O'Rourke: bass, synth, shortwave, effects, drum machine, vocals
Joe Talia: drums, percussion, vocals

CD 1
This Bitter Earth
Wild Is the Wind
The House on Highland Avenue
Endless Sea
I Fall In Love Too Easily
Do It Again
Easy Evil
Comin' Back To Me

CD 2
Mass Production
The Intruder
Smell My Scent
Reach Out
She's Not There
Final Solution
Red Sky

Jim O'Rourke, Eiko Ishibashi, and Joe Talia aid avant-garde enigma John Duncan unpackage songs from his remarkable grimoir 'Bitter Earth' on recordings made in Club Metro, Kyoto, 2017 while a Typhoon raged outside the venue. This is really quite the stunning set...

'Red Sky' offers documentary evidence of Duncan cementing his transition from wildly unpredictable experimentalist to a doomy troubadour with a mean line of cover versions during a set lasting just over 90 minutes. While Duncan takes centre stage on vocals, the highly attuned trio of O'Rourke, Ishibashi and Talia reliably supply backdrops that range from ritualistic ambience threaded with Duncan's favoured FM radio signals, to swooning midnight jazz, passages of driving mixes of kraut- and psych-rock, uneasy exotica and carmine-stained, Italian library soundtrack vibes.

The pair of CDs capture the essence of the band's last date on a three week tour of Japan. Because of the typhoon outside, the band expected it to be less than busy inside, but a packed audience - replete with steam from their wet clothes - greeted the band, including some coming for their 3rd show of the tour. Given it was their last chance to perform together, and for Duncan to "bask in Eiko's, Jim's and Joe's consistently masterful creativity", they all put on a mesmerising show that harnessed everything they'd experienced and learned together on the road one final time.

Kicking off with some 18 minutes of utterly haunting dark jazz scaping by his band, Duncan hovers in over a stark piano refrain with a devastating take on Dinah Washington's 1960 evergreen, 'This Bitter Earth', the vocal and keys going toe-to-toe up your spine, and five minutes later they've seamlessly locked into a grizzled garage rock cover of 'Wild Is The Wind' by Nina Simone, and soon enough an achingly sleazy spin on Steely Dan's 'Do It Again' almost worth the admission alone. CD 2 picks up at the set's mid-way with a possessed take on Iggy Pop's darkest moment, 'Mass Production', before steering down a dim-lit dark ambient ginnel to the set's other peak, a spellbindingly tense but shatterproof cover of Four Tops' 'Reach Out', before setting fire to The Zombie's 'She's Not There', and coming to rest in his quieter element with his barely-there cover of 'Dark' by Pere Ubu, and Duncan's hollerin', clappin' bluesy spiritual 'Red Sky' to close.
-- Boomkat